

Illinois Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers

# 2022 Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Thursday, October 27, 2022

### Forest Ballroom, DoubleTree Hotel, Alsip, IL

**1. Call to Order/Welcome:** President Jennifer Harbaugh called the meeting to order at 12:40 p.m.

## 2. Reports from Officers

### a. Secretary

Secretary Abby Schierer presented the minutes from the 2021 annual business meeting.

Motion: It was moved by Emily Nicholson and seconded by Meg Wertin to approve the 2021 annual business minutes. Motion was approved with no objections.

## b. Treasurer

Treasurer Emmanuel Esperanza was not present and was stepping down from the executive board so President Jennifer Harbaugh spoke on his behalf. Jennifer presented the proposed 2023-2024 budget that was provided by Emmanuel prior to leaving the position. The proposed 2023-2024 budget removed the additional funds added in 2022-2023 for the celebration of our 100<sup>th</sup> year. The scholarship line item was increase to \$2000 to reflect raising the scholarship amounts to \$1000 each. Travel expenses for the Executive Board which had been removed during the COVID-19 period were also added back into the 2023-2024 budget which will be discussed by the Executive Board.

Angela Snow also asked members to make IACRAO their Amazon Smile Recipient if they do not already have one. She explained that 1% of purchases made through the account come back to us, which go toward our scholarship funds. Jennifer also announced that Gretchen Taylor is stepping down as Treasurer-Elect and that Mark Mountain is stepping in to become the new Treasurer in her place.

Motion: The approval of the proposed IACRAO budget for the 2023-2024 year comes as a motion from IACRAO's Executive Board and does not require a second. Motion was approved with no objections.

### c. Equal Educational Opportunities Officer

Equal Educational Opportunities Officer Tedra Mewhirter shared that when she began in her position she found that the organization wass not actively tracking diversity among our membership. She encouraged participants to log onto Member Clicks and update their profiles to include demographic information. This will allow the organization to track representation and develop special interest groups and professional development opportunities.

### d. Professional Activities Officer - Sarah Hartman

Professional Activities Officer, Sarah Hartman announced that there were no submissions to the Bright Ideas Contest this year. She encouraged individuals to start thinking about ideas to submit next year and reminded everyone that the winner gets free registration for the subsequent inperson Annual Conference.

## **3.** Archivist Report – Nathan McCoy

Archivist Nathan McCoy was not in attendance so President Jennifer Harbaugh spoke on his behalf. Jennifer shared that Nathan is now Registrar at Methodist College and continues to serve on the Executive Board. The Archives are still housed at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign library. Nate is planning to visit the archives likely in the spring. If anyone has anything to add to the archives please reach out to Nate. His contact information can be found on the IACRAO website.

## 4. President Reports

#### a. Past President

Past President Marc Dale, Jr. announced that 74 students started scholarship applications this year. Some were not completed, but we still ended up with a bigger applicant pool than we have had in the past. The recipient of the Leadership and Service Scholarship was Emma Peters, a Lincoln Land Community College to University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign student. The recipient of the Leadership and Service Scholarship for Underrepresented Students was Brenda De Souza Soares da Rosa, a Parkland College to University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign student. Marc thanked Gretchen Taylor, Abby Schierer, Mark Mountain, and Angela Snow for serving on the scholarship committee.

Marc shared the slate of nominees for the changing executive board positions. The nominees include Tiffani Robertson of Governors State

University for the President-Elect Position and Geoffrey Glowacki of Kishwaukee College for the Treasurer-Elect position.

Motion: It was moved by Kyle Merkle and seconded by Brian Clevenger to closed the nominations. Motion was approved with no objections. Motion: It was moved by Gretchen Taylor and seconded by Jennifer Harbaugh to accept the slate of nominees. There was no discussion. Motion was approve with no objections.

Marc's final update was to announce that no bylaw changes were being proposed.

#### b. President-Elect

President-Elect Katy Saalfield thanked everyone for attending the annual conference. She shared that of the 90 registrants, 30 agreed to volunteer in some way during the conference. She also thanked the members of the Planning Committee and our 12 conference sponsors

Katy announced that a new session had just been added to the sixth breakout period that afternoon. She also reminded attendees that raffle tickets and the meet your match activity were still ongoing and that the reception and costume party would take place later that evening.

#### c. President – Jennifer Harbaugh

President Jennifer Harbaugh again thanked everyone for participating, especially the executive board.

#### d. Awards

Awards were given to the following individuals: Yolanda Zenawick, Northeast District Chair Alex Torres, Northwest District Chair Mark Mountain, East Central District Chair Robin Ackman, West Central District Chair Amy Bowling, Southern District Chair Emmanuel Esperanza, Treasurer Marc Dale, Jr., Past-President And Conference Planning Committee members, Crystal Garvey, Mayra Lagunas, and Daniel Tamayo.

Awards from the previous year that did not make it to their recipients because of the virtual format were also available for them to pick up this year.

## 5. AACRAO Report

There was no AACRAO report.

### 6. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

### 7. New Business

The 2023 Annual Conference will be held at the Marriott Hotel in Bloomington-Normal, Illinois.

### **8.** Passing of the Gavel

At this time, the gavel was passed from Jennifer Harbaugh to Katy Saalfield, as Katy became the new IACRAO President.

# 9. Adjournment

Motion: It was moved by Josi Rawls and seconded by Meg Wertin to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 1:15 p.m.