

2019 Annual Business Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 24, 2019 Ambassador Ballroom, Wyndham City Centre, Springfield, IL

1. Call to Order/Welcome- Called at 12:50 p.m. by Chris Huang, IACRAO President

2. Report of Officers

a. **Secretary** – Leslie Betz (Chris Huang in place of absent Leslie Betz): Are there any corrections or is there any discussion regarding the October 25, 2018, minutes from the DoubleTree Hotel in Alsip, Illinois?

Motion was made by Jess Ray, Illinois State University, Katy Saalfeld, Northern Illinois University, seconded the motion, and it was approved.

b. **Treasurer**- Emily Nicholson: Please note that the financial documents that have been distributed do not include any outstanding checks.

Emily presented a recommendation for increasing dues for IACRAO. IACRAO has only raised dues twice in twenty-four years. Hotel costs are going up drastically. We want to offer more to our members, but need to do so within our budget. Proposals have been approved by the IACRAO Executive board related to two budgetary options, one without a membership increase and one with an increase. The proposed increase would be to raise institutional membership from \$125 to \$145 and increase the individual rate from \$15 to \$25. Dena Lawrence asked about whether the board had considered increasing just the individual rate, rather than the institutional rate. Emily assured Dena that the board had considered this, along with various other options. She explained that conference fees are rising and that to prepare for future conferences, an increase was eventually going to be inevitable.

Motion to approve budget "B" (including the membership increase) made by Katy Saalfeld, seconded by Nick Sanders, and was approved. Jason Wickline abstained.

IACRAO is no longer using 123 Sign up. We are now using MemberClicks and Payscape. A miscellaneous line item for \$100 was added in the budget to account for miscellaneous expenses not easily identified within previously created categories.

Motion to approve made by Katie Saalfeld, seconded by Josi Rawls, and was approved.

c. **Equal Educational Opportunities Officer** – Nick Sanders: Thanks to everyone, especially to Tenial Whitted and Kristin Smigielski for their help during the last year.



During my (Nick Sanders) time helping with membership, we created an LGBTQ committee and a diversity committee.

- d. **Professional Activities Officer** Jason Wickline: Thanks to everyone for your support during the last two years. Please get involved with district meetings. Bright Ideas is changing. There will be four panelists presenting, with just over 10 minutes each.
- 3. **Archivist Report** Nathan McCoy: The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign maintains the archives for IACRAO, including items donated by Peter Hood, previous Archivist. If you have any items from past IACRAO conferences that you would like to donate, please give them to me so that I can catalog and archive them.

4. President Reports

a. Past President – Kristin Smigielski: Announced the two scholarship recipients that where awarded two \$500 scholarships: Mackenzie Smith and Lurenjie Wang. The new slate of officer nominees for 2019-2020 were presented (President-Elect Marc Dale, Jr., Treasurer-Elect Christopher Sayre, Secretary Cassandra Spila, Equal Opportunity Education Officer Katherine Delgado, and Professional Actives Officer Katy Saalfeld).

Jamie Palumbo made a motion to accept the new slate of officers, Jerry Montag seconded, and the motion was approved.

Kristin said we have proposed changes to our current bylaws to membership, including Article V section 11, Article V section 12, and Article V section 13. There was no discussion related to the changes.

Motion to approve made by Jess Ray, seconded by Pam Walden, and was approved.

b. President-Elect- Brian Clevenger: For this year's conference, we have 171 attendees, which is (we believe) a record. This number includes members, vendors, retirees, and affiliates. This year we partnered with ILASFAA and their session was well received. Jennifer McClure, a prior IACRAO President, made this suggestion a few years ago to partner with ILASFAA and this year we were finally able to make that happen. Thanks were given to those who have or will present, along with Chris Huang, Kristin Smigielski, and Emily Nicholson. In addition, recognition certificates were presented to the various conference committees, including the Local Arrangements Committee: Jessica Windell, Cindy Smith, and Evan Stanley; Membership Committee: Emily Nicholson and Angela Snow; Technology Committee: Patrick Sears (who was absent), Brian Catherwood, and Chris Sayre; Vendor Committee: Katie Camarano and Katy Saalfeld.



- c. President Chris Huang: Chris gave thanks to Kristin Smigielski and said he was proud to be the first Asian-American to serve as the President of IACRAO. Chris wanted to thank everyone who was involved in setting up, and helping with, MemberClicks including Patrick Sears, Emily Nicholson, Brian Clevenger, Kristin Smigielski, and Angela Snow. Chris said that AACRAO currently uses MemberClicks, which was one of the primary reasons we wanted to begin using MemberClicks. Chris discussed the new logo for IACRAO that includes five bars to represent the five districts within Illinois. The new logo is current, but still embodies the symbolism of the previous logo. For all of you that will be attending the next AACRAO meeting, there will be an IACRAO reception on Tuesday evening and all individuals from Illinois schools are welcome to attend.
- d. **Awards:** Certificates of appreciation were awarded to all conference committee members at this time.
- 5. AACRAO Report- Tiffany Robison: Tiffany works at the University of Kansas and is the AACRAO representative joining us at our conference. Tiffany discussed various leadership opportunities available through AACRAO. She said AACRAO is actively working to bring diversity to the organization. If you are able, please consider attending the SEM conference in Dallas, Texas. The next AACRAO annual conference will be held April 5-8, 2020, in New Orleans, LA at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. Registration opens on Wednesday, November 13, 2019. Voting is going on now for the new slate of officers for AACRAO. Please log onto the AACRAO website and cast your vote. Voting began on October 15 and will end on November 15. There is a biography for each officer on the ballot.
- 6. WACRAO Remarks- Beth Warner: Beth works at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and she is WACRAO President-Elect. Beth said the WACRAO conference is in two weeks. The WACRAO conference budget is \$42,000, and is held at Grand Geniva. They have 42 sessions scheduled. Nate McCoy will be attending WACRAO as a guest, just as Beth is attending our IACRAO conference. Beth said they moved away from 123 sign up and starting using STAR Chapter before they knew about MemberClicks.
- 7. **Awards for retiring Board members:** Awards were given out to all retiring board members at this time.

8. Old Business: none

9. New Business: none

10. **Passing of the Gavel:** At this time, the gavel was passed from Chris Huang to Brian Clevenger, as Brian became the new IACRAO President. Brian thanked the attendees



and encouraged all to stay for district meetings immediately following the end of the business meeting.

11. **Adjournment –** *Jamie Palumbo made motion to adjourn, Josi Rawls seconded, and the motion was approved. The meeting ended at 1:57 p.m.*

Respectfully submitted,

Angela Snow

IACRAO Communications Manager (in place of 2018-19 IACRAO Secretary, Leslie Betz)

Edited by Brian Clevenger (2019-20 IACRAO President) and Cassandra Spila (2019-20 IACRAO Secretary)