## **IACRAO Annual Business Meeting Minutes**

# October 25, 2018 Double Tree Hotel Alsip, Illinois

#### Call to Order

President Kristin Smigielski called the meeting to order at 12:40 p.m.

Kristin confirmed there was a quorum for voting on the change in bylaws.

Kristin recognized first-time attendees and new members, past-presidents in attendance, exhibitors, and the 2017-2018 Executive Board. She acknowledged the recent passing of Ruth Jass, past-president of IACRAO, and her service to AACRAO and IACRAO.

#### Secretary Report

Leslie Betz presented the minutes from the 2017 IACRAO Annual Business Meeting.

Motion: It was moved (Jerry Montag, Northern Illinois University) and seconded (Andy Kindler, Bradley University) to accept the minutes. Motion passed.

### Treasurer Report

Emily Nicholson presented the treasurer report. There was no discussion of the treasurer report. Emily reviewed the budget for 2018-2019, and noted the increase in the speakers' budget and the increase in conference expenses for the conference downstate. The motion was approved to accept the 2018-2019 budget.

#### **Professional Activities Officer Report**

Jason Wickline gave the Professional Activities Officer report. Jason announced that district meetings will take place following the business meeting. Names of the newly elected district chair-elects should be submitted to Jason after the district meetings. District chair and chair-elect positions are excellent professional development opportunity and a way to get involved in the organization.

### Equal Educational Opportunities Officer Report

Nick Sanders presented the EEOO report. The Diversity Committee will meet once every quarter and is great opportunity to get involved with IACRAO. If you have interest in serving on the Diversity Committee please reach out to Nick or send a message to the IACRAO listserv.

#### Archivist Report

Nate McCoy presented the Archivist report. The IACRAO archives remain at the University of Illinois Library. Nate will accept contributions to the archive and is looking for materials that may not have been filed over the past 10 to 15 years to fill out archive. If you submit photos, please include the names of individuals, locations of events, and dates if possible.

#### Past President Report

Pam Walden presented the past president's report. Abigayle Endress was awarded the IACRAO scholarship for Leadership and Services. Julie Lorenzo was awarded the IACRAO scholarship for Leadership and Service for Underrepresented Students. The IACRAO scholarships are funded by raffle ticket and t-shirt sales.

This year's slate of officers was presented: Brian Clevenger from University of Illinois, Springfield for President Elect Tenial Whitted from South Suburban College for Treasurer-Elect

Motion: It was moved (Jamie Jesk, College of DuPage) and seconded (Tiffani Robertson, Governors State University) to close the nominations for the slate of officers. Motion approved.

Motion: It was moved (Jess Ray, Illinois State University) and seconded (Tamara Workman, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale) to accept the new slate of officers. Motion approved.

Pam Walden presented three proposed changes to the bylaws. The first proposal would remove the \$50 annual fee wording from the bylaws. There was no discussion of the first proposed change. The second proposal would change the default period for membership renewal from twelve months to four months. This change would ensure all dues are paid in a timely manner and keep the accuracy of member institution list. There was no discussion of the second proposed change. The third proposal would change the term limit for the treasurer position from two years to one year and add the new office of past-treasurer. The treasurer position would remain a three-year role. There was no discussion of the third proposed change.

Motion: The motion to approve all three changes comes from the Board and no second is needed. The motion passed unanimously. The bylaw changes will go into effect immediately.

### President-Elect Report

Chris Huang acknowledged the conference planning, local arrangements, and technology committees, and the registration desk staff for their efforts. Chris recognized Stephanie Juarez for all of her assistance with conference planning. Chris also thanked Kirstin Smigielski and Pam Walden for their support and the IACRAO Board for recruiting presenters. Chris recognized Illinois State University and Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville for providing for the conference technology needs, College of DuPage for printing the conference booklets, and Elgin Community College for putting together the session and conference evaluations.

Chris recognized the following members for their service and assistance with the conference: Amy Snyder, Local Arrangements Committee Co-Chair Yakeea Beaver, Local Arrangements Committee Co-Chair Tiffani Robertson, Local Arrangements Committee Cassandra Spila, Local Arrangements Committee Chris Sayre, Technology Committee Pat Sears, Technology Committee Chair and Website Manager Nick Sanders, Equal Education Opportunities Officer Emily Nicholson, Membership Committee Judy Doyle, Northwest District Chair Josh Hignight, Northeast District Chair Rachel Caracci, East Central District Chair Rick Eddy, West Central District Chair Delfina Dornes, Southern District Chair

### President Report

Kristin Smigielski thanked Pam Walden, outgoing Past-President, for her ten years of service on the IACRAO Board.

Kristin made the following 2019 conference announcements:

SEM Conference November 11-14, 2018 Marriott Washington Wardman Park Washington, DC

105<sup>th</sup> AACRAO Annual Meeting March 31-April 3, 2019 Los Angeles Convention Center Los Angeles, CA An Illinois dinner will be organized.

Technology and Transfer Conference July 14-16, 2019 Caesars Palace Las Vegas, NV IACRAO Annual Conference October 23-25, 2019 Wyndham City Centre Springfield, IL On Thursday IACRAO is co-hosting the conference with ILAFSAA.

### **AACRAO Representative**

Jerry Montag, AACRAO Vice-President for Leadership and Management, gave the AACRAO update. Jerry particularly referenced the new AACRAO website and the AACRAO On The Road program as resources for members, as well as the Annual Meeting.

Referencing the upcoming AACRAO elections, Jerry noted there are three representatives from Governors State University including Tiffani Robertson, Chair-Elect for Nominations and Elections Committee and a member of Mentor Services Committee, Chris Huang, Chair of the Asian and Pacific Islander Caucus, and Kristy Goodwin, Chair of the Black Caucus. Katherine Norris is Chair of the Community College Issues Committee and she, along with Dan Weber, are both on the ballot for the upcoming AACRAO Nominations and Elections Committee. IACRAO is well-represented in AACRAO and Jerry encouraged the membership to vote.

#### **Old Business**

None.

### New Business

IACRAO is forming a Governmental Relations Committee to track and keep membership up-to-date on state and federal legislation that will impact the organization and member institutions. Anyone interested in serving on the GRC should contact Kristin Smigielski.

### Passing of the Gavel

Kristin Smigielski conveyed her gratitude for the opportunity to serve and passed the gavel to Chris Huang.

### **Adjournment**

Motion: It was moved (Katherine Norris, College of DuPage) and seconded (Nick Sanders, Parkland College) to adjourn the meeting. Motion approved at 1:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Leslie M. Betz, Ph.D. IACRAO Secretary